This page aims to provide information around hearing loss to as many people as possible, so please share it with others.

Below you will find links to charities, organisations and other businesses working in this field. Please note that their inclusion is for information only and does not imply a recommendation.  

Simply click on each heading to reveal the details in that section. If you represent an organisation which you feel should be added to this list, please contact me.

Inclusion of the following charities, organisations and businesses is for information only.  (Not a recommendation).

National hearing loss related organisations

Action on Hearing Loss (RNID): https://actiononhearingloss.org.uk/

Hearing Link: https://www.hearinglink.org/    

Lipreading pages: https://www.hearinglink.org/living/lipreading-communicating/

ATLA (Association of Teachers of Lipreading to Adults) – find a class: https://atlalipreading.org.uk/find-a-lipreading-class/

Hearing Dogs for Deaf People:  https://www.hearingdogs.org.uk/

National Cochlear Implant Users Association: https://www.nciua.org.uk/

British Tinnitus Association: https://www.tinnitus.org.uk/

Ménière’s Society: https://www.menieres.org.uk/

National Association of Deafened People: https://www.nadp.org.uk/

Midlands-based organisations

Hear Together (a new charity to help you connect and communicate to live well with your hearing loss): www.heartogether.org.uk/  

Leslie Edwards Trust: www.lets-lipread.org.uk/

Nottinghamshire Deaf Society: www.nottsdeaf.org.uk/

CELST (Central England Lipreading Support Trust): www.celst.org.uk/

NOTTINGHAMSHIRE SERVICES AND SUPPORT

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust Audiology: www.nuh.nhs.uk/audiology/

Sherwood Forest Hospitals Audiology: www.sfh-tr.nhs.uk/our-services/adult-audiology/

Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals Audiology: www.dbth.nhs.uk/services/hearing-services-audiology/

Nottinghamshire County Council Sensory Impairment Team: www.nottinghamshire.gov.uk/care/adult-social-care/help-living-at-home/adult-deaf-and-visual-impairment

Nottingham City Council Adult Sensory Team: www.nottinghamcity.gov.uk/information-for-residents/health-and-social-care/adult-social-care/i-have-an-illness-or-disability/someone-to-help-you/adult-sensory-team/

LIPREADING SUPPORT

Stories for lipreading: http://storiesforlipreading.org.uk/

Lipreading Practice: https://www.lipreadingpractice.co.uk/

HEARING LOSS MANAGEMENT INCLUDING HEARING AIDS

C2hearonline (interactive multimedia videos on hearing aids and how to hear well): www.c2hearonline.com/

HEARING LOSS RESEARCH

Nottingham University: https://nottinghambrc.nihr.ac.uk/research/hearing

UCL – The Ear Institute: www.ucl.ac.uk/ear/about-ear-institute

DISABILITY HELP AND SUPPORT SCHEMES

Sunflower Lanyard Scheme – Hidden Disabilities: https://hiddendisabilitiesstore.com/

Travel – Disabled Persons Railcard: www.disabledpersons-railcard.co.uk/

Access to Work (grants to help you at work if you have a disability, including hearing loss): www.gov.uk/access-to-work

Relay UK – Phone communication for people with hearing and speech difficulties: www.relayuk.bt.com

HEARING AID AND ASSOCIATED EQUIPMENT SUPPLIERS

Connevans: www.connevans.co.uk

Gordon Morris (hearing loss equipment specialist): www.gordonmorris.co.uk/